Back from WFC2007, Eclipse One, and S. M. Stirling’s Ice, Iron and Gold.

We’re back from World Fantasy, folks. Wow, what an experience. We met all sorts of great new people, gave away a ton of Night Shade Posse T-shirts, hit just about every party under the sun, and Jeremy even had time to do a panel on independent press publishing. If we didn’t have a chance to meet you this year (and get a photo of you in a Night Shade Posse shirt), well, there’s always next year. But now we’re home in San Francisco, back to doing what we do best: bringing your bookshelf the best in fantasy, science fiction, and horror.

We’ve got a few new arrivals that haven’t, for one reason or another, made it onto our announcement list yet. First off is Eclipse One, an original short fiction anthology series edited by Jonathan Strahan showcasing a surprising array of authors weaving tantalizing tales ranging from the shocking and surprising to the strange and sublime. Don’t miss this one!

Next up is S.M. Stirling’s Ice, Iron and Gold, the first collection of short fiction from the New York Times best-selling author of Dies the Fire. This is an essential collection for Stirling fans, and a great introduction for new readers.

Last, but certainly not least, is Alex Bledsoe’s debut novel, The Sword-Edged Blonde. This is hardboiled fantasy at its best, a stunning noir thriller set in a fully-realized high fantasy universe. The Sword-Edged Blonde is required reading for fans of Glen Cook’s Garrett, P.I. novels, not to mention anyone who loves Hammett or Chandler. This is the first Alex Bledsoe novel you’ll read, but it won’t be the last.