Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

THE WINDUP GIRL wins the Nebula Award!

On Saturday, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) presented this year’s Nebula Awards, one of the science fiction and fantasy field’s top honors (sort of like the Academy Award of SF/F). And this year our very own Paolo Bacigalupi won the Nebula Award for best novel for The Windup Girl.

The other winners include: “Spar” by Kij Johnson (Best Short Story),”Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast” by Eugie Foster (Best Novelette), and “The Women of Nell Gwynne’s” by Kage Baker (Best Novella). Non-Nebula Awards presented at the ceremony include the Bradbury Award, to District 9; the Solstice Award to Tom Doherty, Terri Windling, and Donald A. Wollheim; and the Andre Norton Award for best young adult fiction to Catherynne M. Valente for The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making.  Also, Joe Haldeman was presented with the SFWA Grand Master Award, and Neal Barrett, Jr. was named Author Emeritus.

Congratulations again to Paolo and to all the other winners and nominees. If you haven’t already, be sure to pick up a copy of The Windup Girl,which is now available in trade paperback for just $14.95.