Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160

New in Paperback: The Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith

Collected fantasies vol 1“None strikes the note of cosmic horror as well as Clark Ashton Smith. In sheer daemonic strangeness and fertility of conception, Smith is perhaps unexcelled by any other writer.”
—H. P. Lovecraft

Night Shade Books is proud to announce that this September we’ll be kicking off the publication of brand new trade paperback editions of The Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith, featuring the complete short fiction of the legendary weird fiction author.

Many of the hardcovers in this series, first published between 2007 and 2011, have been long unavailable since the original printings sold out, and over the years have become quite pricey on the secondary market. Night Shade continues to get more inquiries regarding availability of this series than any other title we’ve released. Now, we’re excited to announce that we’ve come to an agreement with the estate to release new paperback editions of all of Smith’s short fiction, which includes volumes one through five of the original series, plus the additional sixth volume of miscellaneous writings.
The Door to Saturn
Clark Ashton Smith, considered one of the greatest contributors to seminal pulp magazines such as Weird Tales, helped define and shape “weird fiction” in the early twentieth century, alongside contemporaries H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard, drawing upon his background in poetry to convey an unparalleled richness of imagination and expression in his stories of the bizarre and fantastical.

The Collected Fantasies series presents all of Smith’s fiction chronologically. Authorized by the author’s estate and endorsed by Arkham House, the stories in this series are accompanied by detailed background notes from editors Scott Connors and Ron Hilger, who in preparation for this collection meticulously compared original manuscripts, various typescripts, published editions, and Smith’s own notes and letters. Their efforts have resulted in the most definitive and complete collection of the author’s work to date.

VintageFromAtlantisHere are the announced publication dates for each volume:

Volume One: The End of the Story—September 2015

Volume Two: The Door to Saturn—January 2016

Volume Three: A Vintage from Atlantis—May 2016

Volume Four: The Maze of the Enchanter—September 2016

Volume Five: The Last Hieroglyph—January 2017

The Miscellaneous Writings of Clark Ashton Smith—May 2017