Fall 2015/Winter 2016: A Sneak Peak at our Upcoming Books

As summer 2015 releases wind down, the whole team at Night Shade is very excited to finally reveal our Fall 2015/Winter 2016 releases. From debut authors to seasoned veterans, far-future SF to speculative thrillers, new novels to long out-of-print collections, we’ve put together what will be a really exciting next six months of NSB releases showcasing a variety of talents and genres.

Feel free to take a look around; clicking on either the cover art or the title of each book will take you to a standalone release page with more information on each book.

September:

PromiseChild_Cover.Final.2

The Promise of the Child by Tom Toner

Hardcover

Kicking off our new season is a book we’ve been really excited about for a long time. Debut UK author Tom Toner has crafted an intelligent space opera filled with gripping action and an emotional scale that is wonderfully intimate. We could call this a smart and compelling debut that calls to mind the best of Kim Stanley Robinson or M. John Harrison, or we could just say that it’s one of the most original and unique space operas in quite some time. Trust us when we say this is a debut you won’t want to miss. Or, trust Karl Schroeder, author of Lockstep and Sun of Suns:

“One of the most ambitious and epic-scale pieces of worldbuilding I’ve read. Reading The Promise of the Child, you feel you’re in the presence of an author at the height of his powers. If this is what Toner is like when he’s just getting started, I think we can expect great things from him. Utterly absorbing; a tremendous adventure.”

 

In the Shadow of the Towers: Speculative Fiction in a Post-9/11 World edited by Douglas Lain

Paperback original

In the Shadow of the Towers compiles nearly twenty works of speculative fiction responding to and inspired by the events of 9/11, from writers seeking to confront, rebuild, and carry on, even in the face of overwhelming emotion.

Writer and editor Douglas Lain has compiled a unique and thought-provoking anthology featuring a variety of award-winning and best-selling authors, from Jeff VanderMeer (Annihilation) and Cory Doctorow (Little Brother) to Susan Palwick (Flying in Place) and James Morrow (Towing Jehovah). Touching on themes as wide-ranging as politics, morality, and even heartfelt nostalgia, these writers prove that the rubric of the fantastic offers an incomparable view into how we respond to tragedy.

 

Kill By Numbers: In The Wake of the Templars Book Two by Loren Rhoads

Paperback original

The second book in Rhoads’s In the Wake of the Templars series. Kill By Numbers continues Raena Zacari’s galaxy-spanning adventure with sweeping space opera featuring aliens, androids, drug dealers, journalists, and free-running media hackers.

“This military flavored space opera is sure to please David Weber and Joel Shepherd fans.”
Library Journal

Catch up with Loren Rhoads fast-paced trilogy, starting with The Dangerous Type.

 

 

 

Collected fantasies vol 1The End of the Story: The Collected Fantasies, Vol. 1 by Clark Ashton Smith

Paperback reprint

After many years of being unavailable (and highly sought after) in hardcover, Night Shade is excited to be able to release new paperback editions of our well-received Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith series. Smith is widely considered one of the greatest contributors to seminal pulp magazines such as Weird Tales. He helped define and shape “weird fiction” in the early twentieth century, alongside contemporaries H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard, drawing upon his background in poetry to convey an unparalleled richness of imagination and expression in his stories of the bizarre and fantastical.

See this post for more information about Night Shade’s highly-regarded Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith.

Opening volume The End of the Story includes all of Smith’s stories from “The Abominations of Yondo” (1925) to “A Voyage to Sfanomoë” (1930), and an introduction by Ramsey Campbell.

 

November:

WeighingShadows_Book_v2_THIN_CMYK

Weighing Shadows by Lisa Goldstein

Paperback original

Lisa Goldstein’s work has been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, and World Fantasy award, and she is the winner of the National Book Award for her novel The Red Magician. We couldn’t be more excited to release a brand new novel form her, Weighing Shadows, a time traveling fantasy that showcases Lisa’s talent for engrossing characters and lyrical writing.

“Goldstein has given us the kind of magic and adventure that once upon a time made us look for secret panels in the walls of wardrobes, or brush our teeth with a book held in front of our eyes, because we couldn’t bear to put it down.” —The New Yorker

 

 

 

CoverNotAvailableFireNo More Heroes: In The Wake of the Templars Book Three by Loren Rhoads

Paperback original

Cover reveal coming soon!

The third and final book in Rhoads’s In the Wake of the Templars trilogy, mixing courtroom science fiction with sweeping space opera that features aliens, androids, drug dealers, journalists, and free-running media hackers.

“Takes the best elements of Star Wars and mates them with Guardians of the Galaxy and Firefly to create a kick-ass and totally original love child. A must-read!”—Dana Fredsti, author of the Ashley Parker series

 

 

 

January:

Dark Intelligence 9781597808248

Dark Intelligence: Transformation Book One by Neal Asher

Paperback reprint

In paperback for the first time, Dark Intelligence is the opening book in Neal Asher’s new Polity trilogy, and a great entry point if you’ve never experienced Asher’s balls-to-wall, action-packed military-flavored space operas featuring complex technology and frighteningly bizarre aliens, all at an absolutely epic scale.

“Beautifully paced . . . does just as well as at slam-bang action scenes as at painting frightening pictures . . . This is space opera at a high peak of craftsmanship.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review

“What Asher delivers here is state-of-the-art SF on so many levels. . .a compelling, smart read.”
—Paul Di Filippo, Locus

 

 

CoverNotAvailableFireThe Last Weekend by Nick Mamatas

Paperback original

Cover reveal coming soon!

Nick Mamatas takes a high-powered drill to the lurching, groaning conventions of zombie dystopias and conspiracy thrillers, sparing no cliché about tortured artists, alcoholic “genius,” noir action heroes, survivalist dogma, or starry-eyed California dreaming. Starting in booze-soaked but very clear-eyed cynicism and ending in gloriously uncozy catastrophe, The Last Weekend is merciless, uncomfortably perceptive, and bleakly hilarious.

“Nick Mamatas crafts a clever blend of multiple genres that is equal parts heartfelt, fearful, and funny. The Last Weekend is a headshot to a tiresome trope. I loved it!”
—Brian Keene, author of The Rising and The Last Zombie

 

The Door to Saturn

The Door to Saturn: The Collected Fantasies, Vol. 2 by Clark Ashton Smith

Paperback reprint

After many years of being unavailable (and highly sought after) in hardcover, Night Shade is excited to be able to release new paperback editions of our well-received Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith series. Smith is widely considered one of the greatest contributors to seminal pulp magazines such as Weird Tales. He helped define and shape “weird fiction” in the early twentieth century, alongside contemporaries H.P. Lovecraft and Robert E. Howard, drawing upon his background in poetry to convey an unparalleled richness of imagination and expression in his stories of the bizarre and fantastical.

See this post for more information about Night Shade’s highly-regarded Collected Fantasies of Clark Ashton Smith.

The Door to Saturn, the second in this five-volume series, includes all of Smith’s stories from “The Door to Saturn” (1930) to “The Hunters from Beyond” (1932), as well as an introduction by Tim Powers.

 

February:

PhantomEffect

Phantom Effect by Michael Aronovitz

Paperback original

In this inventive novel from acclaimed horror writer Michael Aronovitz, a serial killer must live through the eyes of his last victim and face the mind-numbing horror of being hunted by himself.

Marissa Madison had been a psychic of sorts while alive, using her ability to assist people in their personal journeys. Now, the ghost of Marissa will utilize her strange gift, trapping her killer in an abandoned motel, and forcing him to live the last, fatal week of her own life as a passive passenger in her body.

“One of the most powerful and gripping horror novels I’ve read in years. Phantom Effect establishes Aronovitz as a prominent voice in contemporary weird fiction.”
—S. T. Joshi

 

Chains_of_the_Heretic_TP_COVER_FINALChains of the Heretic: Bloodsounder’s Arc Book Three by Jeff Salyards

Hardcover

The third and final volume in Jeff Salyards’s gritty, clever, and inventive grimdark fantasy saga in the vein of Glen Cook and Joe Abercrombie. With previous novels Veil of the Deserters and Scourge of the Betrayer popping up on multiple year end best-of lists, Chains of the Heretic closes the story of Braylar Killcoin and the soldiers of the Syldoon Empire.

“As harsh and profane as anything Richard K. Morgan or Joe Abercrombie serves up. Fortunately, Salyards has the skills – and the humor – to pull it off. Snappy dialogue, political intrigue, shady characters, gripping action sequences, a poor guy that has no idea what he’s gotten himself into. . .Yeah, there’s a lot to like.”       —David Anthony Durham, author of The Acacia Trilogy.

 

 

Agatha H. and the Voice of the CastleAgatha H. and the Voice of the Castle by Phil and Kaja Foglio

Paperback reprint

In paperback for the first time, Agatha H. and the Voice of the Castle is the third novelization of the Hugo Award–winning online comic Girl Genius created by Kaja and Phil Foglio.

In The Voice of the Castle, Agatha Heterodyne’s return to her ancestral home, the warped little town of Mechanicsburg, is complicated by an imposter claiming to be the legitimate heir to her family’s inheritance, the Empire’s accusation that Agatha is the person responsible for the Long War (and to be fair, they are not entirely incorrect), and, perhaps worst of all, an insane castle.

“Simply put, Girl Genius has everything I look for in a story.” —Patrick Rothfuss

Agatha H. is a tremendously fun addition to the Girl Genius canon.” —Cory Doctorow

 

Emissary 9781597805322Emissary: The Second Book of the Seven Eyes by Betsy Dornbusch

Paperback reprint

The paperback release of the second book in Betsy Dornbusch’s gritty dark fantasy saga. Draken Vae Khellian, exiled from his homeland and falsely accused of murdering his wife, was forced to carve a new life for himself in the neighboring kingdom of Akrasia. In Emissary, Draken will have to negotiate peace between the land he came from and his new home if he has any chance of survival.

“Necromantic magic, deadly political intrigue, and a reluctant hero torn between his duty to a foreign queen and his desire for revenge. . .Betsy Dornbusch’s Exile kept me reading into the wee hours of the night, breathless to find out how Draken’s story would end.”
—Courtney Schafer, author of The Shattered Sigil series