Night Shade Books June Releases

June sees four fantastic new Night Shade Books releases! First is Na’amen Tilahun’s debut portal fantasy novel, The Root. Then there’s the start of a brand-new time travel series that’s been making waves in the UK, Just One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor. Finally, for all of the short story fans, we have two best of the year collections coming from two of the highest regarded genre editors around: The Best Science Fiction of the Year, Volume One edited by Neil Clarke and The Best Horror of the Year, Volume Eight edited by Ellen Datlow.

TheRoot Updated CoverThe Root by Na’amen Gobert Tilahum

Paperback original out June 7

With The Root, Na’amen Tilahun has crafted a dark, gritty urban fantasy debut set in modern-day San Francisco, filled with gods, sinister government agencies, and worlds of dark magic hidden just below the surface.

Erik, a former teen star living in San Francisco, thought his life was complicated; having his ex-boyfriend in jail because of the scandal that destroyed his career seemed overwhelming. Then Erik learned he was Blooded: descended from the Gods.

Lil is searching for answers to her parents’ sudden and mysterious deaths. Surrounded by those who wish her harm and view her as a lesser being, Lil delves into a forgotten history that those in power will go to dangerous lengths to keep buried.

But neither realize that a darkness is coming, something none have faced in living memory.

“Tilahun creates a fantasy world you’ll want to get lost in, and fills it with fascinating, diverse characters. This is a whole new exciting kind of portal fantasy.”
—Charlie Jane Anders, author of All the Birds in the Sky


Just One Damned Thing After AnotherJust One Damned Thing After Another by Jodi Taylor

Paperback original out June 7

If you’re a fan of time travel stories, then this is one that you’ll really want to check out. It’s the first book in the runaway bestselling British madcap time-travelling series, served with a dash of wit that seems to be everyone’s cup of tea. We’re publishing this series on an accelerated cycle, so don’t worry, you won’t have to wait long to get your dose of St. Mary’s!

Behind the seemingly innocuous facade of St. Mary’s Institute of Historical Research, a different kind of academic work is taking place. Just don’t call it “time travel”—these historians “investigate major historical events in contemporary time.” And they aren’t your harmless eccentrics either; a more accurate description, as they ricochet around history, might be unintentional disaster-magnets.

“A carnival ride through laughter and tears with a bit of time travel thrown in for spice . . . readers will be impatient for later installments.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review



Best_SciFi_Year_Cover_9781597808545_rgbThe Best Science Fiction of the Year, Volume One edited by Neil Clarke

Paperback original out June 7

A biological plague begins infecting artificial intelligence; a natural-born Earth woman seeking asylum on another planet finds a human society far different from her own; a food blogger’s posts chronicle a nationwide medical outbreak; trapped in a matchmaking game, a couple tries to escape from the only world they know; a janitor risks everything to rescue a “defective” tank-born baby he can raise as his own.

For decades, science fiction has compelled us to imagine futures both inspiring and cautionary. Whether it’s a warning message from a survey ship, a harrowing journey to a new world, or the adventures of well-meaning AI, science fiction inspires the imagination and delivers a lens through which we can view ourselves and the world around us. With The Best Science Fiction of the Year Volume One, award-winning editor Neil Clarke provides a year-in-review and thirty-one of the best stories published by both new and established authors in 2015.

For the full table of contents click here!



Best _Horror_Vol_8_Front FINALThe Best Horror of the Year, Volume Eight edited by Ellen Datlow

Paperback original out June 7

A town is held hostage by an unholy bargain made by some of the inhabitants; a party game on Halloween brings back memories better left forgotten; one misstep changes the balance of survival during the apocalypse; a group of seemingly typical travelers are stranded in an airport; a widower’s holiday in a seaside town becomes a nightmare . . .

The Best Horror of the Year showcases the previous year’s best offerings in short fiction horror. This edition includes award-winning and critically acclaimed authors Neil Gaiman, Kelley Armstrong, Stephen Graham Jones, Carmen Maria Machado, and more.

For more than three decades, award-winning editor and anthologist Ellen Datlow has had her finger on the pulse of the latest and most terrifying in horror writing. Night Shade Books is proud to present the eighth volume in this annual series, a new collection of stories to keep you up at night.

For a full table of contents click here!