The Best Horror, collected by the Best Editor—Ellen Datlow

At the Hugo Awards at Worldcon 75 on August 11th, Ellen Datlow, the longtime editor of Night Shade’s successful Best Horror of the Year series, won Best Editor, Short Form, and we’d like to offer her a huge congrats. We’re incredibly proud to work with such an acclaimed and influential editor—in addition to the 2017 Hugo Award, she also won in the same category in 2016, 2014, 2010, and 2009, and has been nominated for countless others—and so we wanted to take this opportunity to pull together in one spot links to all of her great work with us.

The Best Horror of the Year Series

It’s no exaggeration to say that since its first volume in 2009, this series has compiled the absolute best horror short fiction published each year. Every volume has featured a wide variety of stories by well-known authors, from luminaries like Neil Gaiman, Stephen King, and Richard Matheson, to genre figures as Catherynne M. Valente, John Langan, and Brian Hodge. We think that, with stories like these, every volume stands up just as well now as it did on publication, and we hope you’ll agree—so if there’s a year you missed, you should check it out below.

And don’t forget: Volume Nine, the most recent edition, came out in July 2017! It’s never too late to pick up a copy, though. (After all, Volume Ten comes out in 2018, and so does The Devil and the Deep, an original anthology of horror stories centered around the sea, so there’s no time to waste!)

Click on each cover to be taken to a book page with more information, as well as links to order each book from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, and other retailers.

BestHorror_Vol_1  BestHorror_Vol_2_r5  BestHorror_Vol_3  BestHorror_v4_Build_01.indd  Best Horror of the Year Volume Five 9781597804745  Best Horror of the Year Volume Six  Best Horror vol 7 final cover  Best _Horror_Vol_8_Front FINAL  Best Horror of the Year Volume Nine

Praise for Ellen Datlow and The Best Horror of the Year series

“As usual, Datlow delivers what she promises, ‘the best horror of the year,’ whether it’s written by the famous (Neil Gaiman) or the should-be famous (Laird Barron and many others).”
Washington Post

“You just can’t have a list of recommended speculative anthologies without including an Ellen Datlow anthology. It’s. Not. Possible. The line-up in The Best Horror of the Year Volume Eight is absolutely stupendous, featuring the most frighteningly talented authors in horror fiction.”

“Once again, [Ellen Datlow supplies] an invaluable book, featuring excellent short fiction and, in addition, providing as always precious information about what happened in the horror field last year.”
—Mario Guslandi, British Fantasy Society


And, if you’re not in the mood for horror (or if you need comfort after reading the stories above), check out Tails of Wonder and Imagination! In this book, Datlow brings her keen editing eye to bear on a collection of short fiction centered around everyone’s favorite: cats! The subject matter couldn’t be more different than the Best Horror series, but the roster of authors is just as impressive: among others, there are stories here by Joyce Carol Oates, George R. R. Martin, and Peter S. Beagle.

Tails of Wonder_TP COVER_r7

(And no, the irony of Beagle writing a cat story is not lost on us.)