HUGO AWARD NOMINATION: The Books of the Raksura, by Martha Wells!

Exciting news, everyone! As you may have heard, we’ve recently received some good news: The Books of the Raksura series, by Martha Wells, has been NOMINATED FOR A HUGO AWARD!

Banner Books of the Raksura

The Books of the Raksura centers around the eponymous Raksura, shapeshifting creatures of flight who live in large family groups called colonies and dwell in massive trees throughout a land known as the Three Worlds. Over the course of five novels and two volumes of shorter fiction, the Raksura must deal with a variety of threats to their ongoing peaceful existence, from meddling humans to dangerous animals to their own mysterious past. Nonhuman though they may be, the Raksura are fascinating and endearing characters. Through their eyes we are introduced to many other species—both friend and foe—and learn a great deal about the history and culture of their unique and alien world, proving Martha truly is “a master world builder.” (New York Times) 

Since the first book, The Cloud Roads, was published in 2011, the series has received glowing praise from such notable authors as N.K. Jemisin, Kate Elliott, Elizabeth Bear, and Kameron Hurley, and has created a legion of Raksura fans across the world. No wonder it was nominated for a Hugo Award!

So, first off, we’d like to offer our heartfelt congratulations to Martha! Martha, we can’t tell you how proud we are to have worked with you to publish this series, and we’re thrilled it’s getting this recognition now.

(If any of you want to congratulate her too, we’d recommend that you check out her Twitter and/or her website.)

In addition, we wanted to put together a quick primer for the Books of the Raksura so that new readers—or those who haven’t read the full seven-book series—can get an idea about where to begin and how the series fits together. So, read on for more information, as well as some great resources from Martha for those who really want to explore the series and its Three Worlds setting.

For starters, here’s a list of the titles in the Books of the Raksura series in order of publication date. We’ve also broken down the seven books into three groups, which we’ll explain more about below. Click on each title to be taken to that book’s page, where you can find descriptions, reviews, and purchase links.

The Books of the Raksura, Volumes One, Two, and Three (Novels)
The Cloud Roads (2011)
The Serpent Sea (2012)
The Siren Depths (2012)

Stories of the Raksura (Novellas and Short Stories)
Volume One: The Falling World & The Tale of Indigo and Cloud (2014)
Volume Two: The Dead City & The Dark Earth Below (2015)

The Books of the Raksura, Volumes Four and Five (Novels)
The Edge of Worlds (2016)
The Harbors of the Sun (2017)

The three novels that make up the first group introduced the fantasy world to the Raksura and the Three Worlds, as well as many of the series’ main characters, who show up in the majority of the later novels and collections. The second group—four novellas and a handful of short stories spread across two volumes—gave Martha a chance to explore other settings and characters in smaller doses.

The Edge of Worlds and The Harbors of the Sun, the last group, make up a standalone duology. You don’t have to have read the first three novels or the short fiction collections beforehand if you wanted to start here, though most readers seem to generally recommend The Cloud Roads as the best entry point to the overall series.

Additionally, whether you’re starting at the beginning, picking up somewhere in the middle, or have already reached the end, we’d recommend taking advantage of some of the resources Martha has made available on the vast, detailed, and much-loved world of the Books of the Raksura:

The Three Worlds Traveler’s Guide: Notes about the species, locations, flora & fauna, lore, and characters of the series.

The Books of the Raksura Compendium: Descriptions of each book (plus reviews!), links to short stories, more information about the Three Worlds, fan-art links, fan-made music, and even special Raksura tea blends.


And, lastly—just to whet your appetites—here’s a chronological timeline of when all the stories and books occur:

“The Tale of Indigo and Cloud”—in the Reaches, before the Time of the Great Leaving

“The Forest Boy”—Moon as a young boy

“The Dead City”—Moon as a young man, after Saraseil

“Adaptation”—sometime later, at the old Indigo Cloud colony in the east

The Cloud Roads—two turns later

The Serpent Sea—eleven days later after the end of The Cloud Roads

The Siren Depths—two months after the end of The Serpent Sea

“Mimesis”—three months after the end of The Siren Depths

“Trading Lesson”—a month later

“The Falling World”—one turn since arriving at the Reaches colony

“The Dark Earth Below”—half a turn after the end of “The Falling World”

The Edge of Worlds—one turn after “The Dark Earth Below”

The Harbors of the Sun—immediately after The Edge of Worlds


Check back here soon to find out if The Books of the Raksura won the Hugo Award (fingers crossed!), and follow us on Twitter for more updates!

Plus, we’re always posting more interesting content here—keep an eye out for cover reveals, excerpts, and new-book announcements!