Cover and Table of Contents Reveal:The Night Land and Other Perilous Romances, by William Hope Hodgson!

Welcome, vintage weird fiction fans! We’ve got exciting news for you today—we’re revealing the cover for The Night Land and Other Perilous Romances, by William Hope Hodgson, which comes out in paperback September 18, 2018! Volume Four in Night Shade’s Collected Fiction of William Hope Hodgson series, this book collects all of his romances and women’s fiction, as well as the entirety of his classic 1912 dying-earth novel The Night Land.

Read on to check out the jacket (and the old hardcover-edition cover!), the Table of Contents, and a brief summary of the series as a whole.

Here’s the full jacket of the new paperback edition:

Night Land and Other Perilous Romances PB


Here’s the full Table of Contents:

Table of Contents

Editor’s Introduction

The Night Land

Perilous Romances
The Captain of the Onion Boat
The Smugglers
In the Wailing Gully
The Girl with the Grey Eyes
Kind, Kind and Gentle Is She
A Timely Escape

A Note On The Texts


And here’s the old hardcover-edition leather-and-foil cover—astute readers of the new editions might find some of this art referenced . . .

Night Land Original HC Cover


And, because we’re always getting asked bout the history of this series, here’s the note we included when we announced Volume One of the paperback editions:

Between 2005 and 2007, Night Shade published a five-volume hardcover set collecting all of early twentieth century fantasist William Hope Hodgson’s novels and short fiction. It was a popular release, and some of the volumes eventually sold out of their printings, fetching high resell prices from readers and collectors.

We get lots of email inquiries here at Night Shade, but near the top of the list of commonly-asked questions is: “Are you ever going to reprint the Hodgson books?”

Well, the answer is now YES: Following up on the well-received paperback reissues of our Clark Ashton Smith series, we’re following suit with Hodgson, and reissuing all five volumes in trade paperback format.

The new series began in September 2017 with The Boats of the “Glen Carrig” and Other Nautical Adventures, featuring a revamped series design from Claudia Noble, based on the original hardcover artwork from Jason Van Hollander. Volume Two, The House on the Borderland and Other Mysterious Places, came out in January 2018, and Volume Three, The Ghost Pirates and Other Revenants of the Sea, published in May 2018.

Check back here soon for the cover reveal for Volume Five, The Dream of X and Other Fantastic Visions!


And don’t forget to follow us on Twitter @NightShadeNews to stay updated with all our cover reveals, excerpts, and other interesting content!