SEARCH @ NIGHT

Close Search
Firewalkers

Firewalkers

A Recondito Novel
By


Trade Paperback - $14.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597809122
Forthcoming: 04/03/2018


Firewalk was only the beginning…

After reopening a long-closed murder investigation, FBI agent Izzie Lefevre and local police detective Patrick Tevake have uncovered something bizarre: something that threatens the city, and something that can only be defeated by combining the memories of their-mostly-forgotten family heritage.

Izzie and Patrick piece together the secret history of the men and women who believed the city of Recondito was a special place, where it was possible to make contact with ancient and powerful beings from other planes of existence: entities who can possess and control vulnerable minds in our own world. The epidemic of mysterious drug overdoses and dead men trying to kill them are just a harbinger of the greater terrors that threaten to consume the city.

From Chris Roberson, the award-winning cocreater of iZombie, comes the sequel to Firewalk, a simmering police procedural with Lovecraftian horrors, served up in the melting-pot city of Recondito, where Mayan, Polynesian, and Haitian mysticism do battle in its shadows.

Praise for Chris Roberson and the Recondito Novels

“[A] gripping supernatural thriller . . . Terrific pacing and detailed police work mixed with supernatural elements will serve well horror and urban fantasy fans alike.”
Library Journal, starred review

“A novel that's part True Detective and part Lovecraft. . . . The plot is engaging, and Roberson really shines in building the relationships and dialogue. . . . The end will have horror fans ready for the sequel.”
Publishers Weekly

“Firewalk is as entertaining as can be, filled with humor and a satisfying depth of plot. The characters are skillfully crafted and demonstrate exceptional savvy without becoming implausible. Peering around the corners in Recondito is wicked good fun; Roberson's fantasy comics background . . . has prepared him to tell this tale of the occult with a marked sense of believability.”
Shelf Awareness, reviewed by Rob LeFebvre

“Lefevre, Tevake and their supporting cast, not to mention the fictional location Recondito, are compellingly drawn, and their pursuit of the current evil and attempt to finally understand the killer they stopped years ago strikes a nice balance between understandable skepticism and a justifiable (and life-saving) willingness to take what they find at face value. . . . memorably creepy and tense.”—4.5 Stars
—a RT Book Reviews Top Pick, reviewed by Ian Mathers

“A haunting thriller in which ancient evil and modern tech intertwine in streets of a dying city—and where the darkness hides things much older and more frightening than the darkness itself.”
—Richard Kadrey, New York Times bestselling author of Sandman Slim

“Smart, tough, and scary as hell. Roberson delivers authentic-feeling police action while spinning us down into a pit (or mineshaft) of horrors.”
—Mike Mignola, creator of Hellboy

Firewalk turns the police procedural on its ear. Roberson’s Recondito is a simmering melting pot of diverse characters and long-buried evil. It's a compelling urban fantasy locale I look forward to returning to.”
—Michael J. Martinez, author of The Daedalus Incident and MJ-12: Inception

“Fans of Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child’s Agent Pendergast series will find a lot to love here, but Roberson takes things a few steps further: by introducing an inclusive cast of characters, and by bringing together Haitian Voodoo, ancient Mayan mythology, cosmology, and even a South Pacific cargo cult. If you’re looking for a cop story with a heavy dose of the supernatural, Firewalk is the book for you.”
—Matthew Sturges, author of Midwinter and The Office of Shadow

Firewalk is X-Files for grownups: weird doings in Lovecraftian caverns, Mayan mythology coming to life, and more. A spine-tingling treat from a consummate pro.”
—Dennis O’Flaherty, author of The Calorium Wars

“Chris Roberson is always surprising you because you thought you knew where he was going and what he was going to do, but his plots are always a bit deeper than you thought, the knife a bit sharper. In Firewalk, he twists that knife like a drill.”
—Paul Tobin, author of Prepare To Die!

“A scorching thriller that expertly blends horror, science fiction, and urban fantasy, Firewalk is an excellent launch to what promises to be a spellbinding series.”
—Richard Cox, author of The Boys of Summer

“Roberson’s expertise as a television and comic-book writer adds a cinematic flair to his story.”
Kirkus Reviews