SEARCH @ NIGHT

Close Search
The Arrows of Time

The Arrows of Time

Orthogonal Book Three
By


Trade Paperback - $15.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597808163
Published: 07/07/2015

Hardcover - $26.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597804875
Published: 08/05/2014


Hard science fiction’s grand master delivers the stunning conclusion to his Orthogonal trilogy.

In a universe where the laws of physics and the speed of light are completely alien to our own, the travelers on the ship Peerless have completed a generations-long struggle to develop advanced technology in a desperate attempt to save their home world. But as tensions mount over the risks of turning the ship around and starting the long voyage home, a new complication arises: the prospect of constructing a messaging system that will give the Peerless news of its own future.

While some see this as a guarantee of safety and a chance to learn of their mission’s ultimate success, others are convinced that the knowledge will be oppressive or worse—that the system could be abused. The conflict over this proposed communication system tears the travelers’ society apart, culminating in terrible violence. To save the Peerless and its mission, its leaders must travel to a world where time runs in reverse.

Continuing in the tradition of The Clockwork Rocket and The Eternal Flame, Greg Egan’s Orthogonal trilogy has continuously pushed the boundaries of scientific fiction, without ever losing track of the lives of the individuals carrying out this grand mission. The Arrows of Time brings this fascinating space opera to a close while offering insight into human nature and the struggles we face, both as individuals and as a species.

Praise for Greg Egan:

“An intellectual quest which involves us, the readers...It is as valid an apotheosis as anything which involves the physical or the spiritual, made rarer because it celebrates curiosity, knowledge, an understand.”
—Andy Sawyer, Strange Horizons on The Arrows of Time

“[Egan is able to] dramatize the interplay between intellect and emotion in the advance of science. He finds unexpected poignancy in a confrontation between those scientists who are impatient to destroy the new universe before it destroys us and those who want to find a way to coexist with it—and with any life-forms that it might have engendered. Even 20,000 years in the future, such issues can still provoke recognizable human passions.”
—Gerald Jones, New York Times on Schild's Ladder

“If you haven’t read any Egan, you so should. He takes the wildest frontiers of today’s science and turns them into brainbending speculative fiction that continually challenges the reader’s ideas of both reality and humanity.”
—Jon Evans, author of Dark Places and The Executor

“Greg Egan is a master of ‘what-if’ science fiction. Other physics? Different biology? Egan’s characters work out the implications and outcomes as they struggle to survive and prevail. The most original alien race since Vernor Vinge’s Tines.”
—David Brin, Hugo and Nebula Award-winning author of Earth and Existence

“The perfect SF novel. A pitch-perfect example of how to imagine aliens. Captivating from the first page to the superb last paragraph.”
—Liviu Suciu, Fantasy Book Critic on The Clockwork Rocket

“More than any Egan story to date, the books of the Orthogonal trilogy place science in a broader social context.” —Karen Burnham, Strange Horizons on The Eternal Flame

“Egan’s fans as well as lovers of SF that emphasizes hard science should welcome this tale of courage and self-sacrifice.”
Library Journal on The Eternal Flame

“When most people switch a minus sign for a plus, they re-do the math. Egan re-does the entire universe.”
—Jerry Oltion, Nebula Award-winning author of Abandon in Place

“Wonderful mind-expanding stuff, and well-written too.”
The Guardian on Permutation City

“Egan is a major voice in SF, and this impressive work should help win him the wide readership he deserves.”
Publisher's Weekly on Distress

“Vast ins scope, episodic, complex, and utterly compelling: a hard science fiction yarn that's worth every erg of the considerable effort necessary to follow.”
Kirkus Reviews on Diaspora

“Egan is perhaps SF's most committed rationalist in the mould of Richard Dawkins. If it cannot be measured, weighed and analyzed, for Egan it does not exist...Teranesia shows why the genre needs him.”
—Colin Harvey, Strange Horizons

“More than any Egan story to date, the books of the Orthogonal trilogy place science in a broader social context.”
—Karen Burnham, Strange Horizons on The Eternal Flame

“A thought-provoking, intensely personal story about conflicting instincts and desires as technology recapitulates humanity.”
Publisher's Weekly (starred review) on Zendegi