Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160


Close Search
The Best Horror of the Year, Vol. 8

The Best Horror of the Year, Vol. 8


Trade Paperback - $15.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 978-1-59780-853-8
Published: 06/07/2016

A frightening collection from the master of horror.

A town is held hostage by an unholy bargain made by some of the inhabitants; a party game on Halloween brings back memories better left forgotten; one misstep changes the balance of survival during the apocalypse; a group of seemingly typical travelers are stranded in an airport; a widower’s holiday in a seaside town becomes a nightmare…

The Best Horror of the Year showcases the previous year’s best offerings in short fiction horror. This edition includes award-winning and critically acclaimed authors Neil Gaiman, Kelley Armstrong, Stephen Graham Jones, Carmen Maria Machado, and more.

For more than three decades, award-winning editor and anthologist Ellen Datlow has had her finger on the pulse of the latest and most terrifying in horror writing. Night Shade Books is proud to present the eighth volume in this annual series, a new collection of stories to keep you up at night.

Table of Contents:

  • Summation 2015 – Ellen Datlow
  • We Are All Monsters Here – Kelley Armstrong
  • Universal Horror – Stephen Graham Jones
  • Slaughtered Lamb – Tom Johnstone
  • In a Cavern, In a Canyon – Laird Barron
  • Between the Pilings – Steve Rasnic Tem
  • Snow – Dale Bailey
  • Indian Giver – Ray Cluley
  • My Boy Builds Coffins – Gary McMahon
  • The Woman in the Hill – Tamsyn Muir
  • Underground Economy – John Langan
  • The Rooms Are High – Reggie Oliver
  • All the Day You’ll Have Good Luck – Kate Jonez
  • Lord of the Sand – Stephen Bacon
  • Wilderness – Letitia Trent
  • Fabulous Beasts – Priya Sharma
  • Descent – Carmen Maria Machado
  • Hippocampus – Adam Nevill
  • Black Dog – Neil Gaiman
  • The 21st Century Shadow – Stephanie M. Wytovich
  • This Stagnant Breath of Change – Brian Hodge
  • Honorable Mentions

“You just can’t have a list of recommended speculative anthologies without including an Ellen Datlow anthology. It’s. Not. Possible. The line-up in The Best Horror of the Year Volume Eight is absolutely stupendous, featuring the most frighteningly talented authors in horror fiction.”

Once again, [Ellen Datlow supplies] an invaluable book, featuring excellent short fiction and, in addition, providing as always precious information about what happened in the horror field last year.”
—Mario Guslandi, British Fantasy Society

“As usual, Datlow delivers what she promises, ‘the best horror of the year,’ whether it’s written by the famous (Neil Gaiman) or the should-be famous (Laird Barron and many others).”
Washington Post