Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160


Close Search
The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Vol. 1

The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Vol. 1


Trade Paperback - $19.95
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597800686
Published: 01/01/2007

Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Powell's, or Baen

ISBN: 978-1-59780-267-3
Published: 01/01/2007

Edited by Jonathan Strahan

Featuring stories by:

Neil Gaiman

Peter S. Beagle

Cory Doctorow

Jeffrey Ford

Walter Jon Williams

Tim Powers

Robert Charles Wilson

Robert Reed

Kelly Link

Connie Willis

Gene Wolfe

Ian McDonald

and many others

A girl raised by feral librarians takes her first steps into the world beyond the stacks; a teenaged boy faces truly stellar relationship problems; an artificially intelligent row-boat debates Asimov’s Three Laws with an uplifted coral reef; a witch has to deal with the problems caused by her stupid younger brother Marvyn; a group of the faithful go out into the wilderness determined to make sure that the world meets their faith; in a colony orbiting Saturn a rebellious teenager faces deletion at the hands of her parents; in a small Southern town the locals harvest some very strange fruit; in a near future Bangkok a poverty-stricken businessman takes brutal measures to rescue his own future; and in Thailand the daughter of a mass murderer is faced with the ghosts of her father’s past.

The depth and breadth of what science fiction and fantasy fiction is changes with every passing year. The two dozen stories chosen for this book by award-winning anthologist Jonathan Strahan carefully maps this evolution, giving readers a captivating and always-entertaining look at the very best the genre has to offer.

Jonathan Strahan has edited more than twenty anthologies and collections, including The Locus Awards, The New Space Opera, The Jack Vance Treasury, and a number of year’s best annuals. He has won the Ditmar, William J. Atheling Jr. and Peter McNamara Awards for his work as an anthologist, and is the reviews editor for Locus.