Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160


Close Search
The Boats of the “Glen Carrig” and Other Nautical Adventures

The Boats of the “Glen Carrig” and Other Nautical Adventures

William Hope Hodgson, Vol. 1

Trade Paperback - $17.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597809207
Published: 09/05/2017

Hardcover - $35.00
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781892389398
Published: 01/01/2003

Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Powell's, or Baen

ISBN: 9781597803670
Published: 01/01/2003

Available for the first time in trade paperback, the first of five volumes collecting the complete fiction of William Hope Hodgson, an influential early twentieth-century author of science fiction, horror, and the fantastic.

William Hope Hodgson was, like his contemporaries Algernon Blackwood and Arthur Machen, one of the most important, prolific, and influential fantasists of the early twentieth century. His dark and unsettling short stories and novels were shaped in large part by personal experience (a professional merchant mariner for much of his life, many of Hodgson’s tales are set at sea), and his work evokes a disturbing sense of the amorphous and horrific unknown.

While his nautical adventure fiction was very popular during his lifetime, the supernatural and cosmic horror he is most remembered for only became well known after his death, mainly due to the efforts of writers like H. P. Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith, who often praised his work and cited it as an influence on their own. By the later half of the twentieth century, it was only his weird fiction that remained in print, and his vast catalog of non-supernatural stories was extremely hard to find.

Night Shade Books’s five-volume series presents all of Hodgson’s unique and timeless fiction. Each volume contains one of Hodgson’s novels, along with a selection of thematically-linked short fiction, including a number of works reprinted for the first time since their original publication. The first of the five-volume set, The Boats of the “Glen Carrig” and Other Nautical Adventures, collects all of Hodgson’s series nautical fiction, including the Sargasso Sea Story cycle.


Table of Contents

Editor’s Introduction

The Boats of the “Glen Carrig”

The Sargasso Sea Stories
From the Tideless Sea, Part One
From the Tideless Sea, Part Two
The Mystery of the Derelict
The Thing in the Weeds
The Finding of the Graiken
The Call in the Dawn

The Exploits of Captain Gault
Contraband of War
The Diamond Spy
The Red Herring
The Case of the Chinese Curio Dealer
The Drum of Saccharine
From Information Received
The German Spy>
The Problem of the Pearls
The Painted Lady
The Adventure of the Garter
My Lady’s Jewels
Trading with the Enemy
The Plans of the Reefing Bi-Plane

The Adventures of Captain Jat
The Island of the Ud
Adventure of the Headland

D. C .O. Cargunka
The Bells of the Laughing Sally
The Adventure with the Claim Jumpers

A Note On The Texts