Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160


Close Search
The Dream of X and Other Fantastic Visions

The Dream of X and Other Fantastic Visions

The Collected Fiction of William Hope Hodgson, Volume Five

Trade Paperback - $17.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597809603
Published: 01/15/2019

Hardcover - $35.00
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781892389435
Published: 01/01/2009

Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, Powell's, or Baen

ISBN: 9781597803717
Published: 01/01/2009

Available for the first time in trade paperback, the final volume in a five-book set collecting the complete fiction of William Hope Hodgson, an influential early twentieth-century author of science fiction, horror, and the fantastic.

William Hope Hodgson was, like his contemporaries Algernon Blackwood and Arthur Machen, one of the most important, prolific, and influential fantasists of the early twentieth century. His dark and unsettling short stories and novels were shaped in large part by personal experience (a professional merchant mariner for much of his life, many of Hodgson’s tales are set at sea), and his work evokes a disturbing sense of the amorphous and horrific unknown.

While his nautical adventure fiction was very popular during his lifetime, the supernatural and cosmic horror he is most remembered for only became well known after his death, mainly due to the efforts of writers like H. P. Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith, who often praised his work and cited it as an influence on their own. By the latter half of the twentieth century, it was only his weird fiction that remained in print, and his vast catalog of non-supernatural stories was extremely hard to find.

Night Shade Books’s five-volume series presents all of Hodgson’s unique and timeless fiction. Each volume contains one of Hodgson’s novels, along with a selection of thematically-linked short fiction, including a number of works reprinted for the first time since their original publication. The final book of the five-volume set, The Dream of X and Other Fantastic Visions, collects all of Hodgson’s miscellaneous writings, “revisions”, and altered works for US publication, including The Dream of X, a condensed, Hodgson-edited version of The Night Land.


Table of Contents

Introduction by Ross E. Lockhart

Fantastic Visions

The Valley of Lost Children

Date 1965: Modern Warfare

My House Shall Be Called the House of Prayer

Judge Barclay’s Wife

The Getting Even of Tommy Dodd

Sea Horses

How the Honourable Billy Darrell Raised the Wind

The Getting Even of ‘Parson’ Guyles

The Friendship of Monsieur Jeynois

The Inn of the Black Crow

What Happened in the Thunderbolt

How Sir Jerrold Treyn Dealt with the Dutch in Caunston Cove

Jem Binney and the Safe at Lockwood Hall

Diamond Cut Diamond with a Vengeance

Eloi, Eloi, Lama Sabachthani

The Room of Fear

The Promise

Captain Dang

Captain Dan Danblasten

Copyright Versions

The Ghost Pirates

Carnacki, the Ghost Finder

The Dream of X

Senator Sandy Mac Ghee

The Last Word in Mysteries

The Dumpley Acrostics

Alternate Versions

An Adventure of the Deep Waters

Captain Gunbolt Charity and the Painted Lady

* The Storm

The Crew of the Lancing


The Raft

R.M.S. “Empress of Australia”

A Note on the Texts