Warning: Creating default object from empty value in /nfs/c02/h01/mnt/15037/domains/nightshadebooks.com/html/wp-content/themes/listings/functions/admin-hooks.php on line 160


Close Search
The Ghost Pirates and Other Revenants of the Sea

The Ghost Pirates and Other Revenants of the Sea

The Collected Fiction of William Hope Hodgson, Volume Three

Trade Paperback - $17.99
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781597809412
Published: 05/08/2018

Hardcover - $35.00
Buy at: Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Powell's

ISBN: 9781892389411
Published: 08/01/05

Available for the first time in trade paperback, the third of five volumes collecting the complete fiction of William Hope Hodgson, an influential early twentieth-century author of science fiction, horror, and the fantastic.

William Hope Hodgson was, like his contemporaries Algernon Blackwood and Arthur Machen, one of the most important, prolific, and influential fantasists of the early twentieth century. His dark and unsettling short stories and novels were shaped in large part by personal experience (a professional merchant mariner for much of his life, many of Hodgson’s tales are set at sea), and his work evokes a disturbing sense of the amorphous and horrific unknown.

While his nautical adventure fiction was very popular during his lifetime, the supernatural and cosmic horror he is most remembered for only became well known after his death, mainly due to the efforts of writers like H. P. Lovecraft and Clark Ashton Smith, who often praised his work and cited it as an influence on their own. By the latter half of the twentieth century, it was only his weird fiction that remained in print, and his vast catalog of non-supernatural stories was extremely hard to find.

Night Shade Books’ five-volume series presents all of Hodgson’s unique and timeless fiction. Each volume contains one of Hodgson’s novels, along with a selection of thematically linked short fiction, including a number of works reprinted for the first time since their original publication. The third book of the five-volume set, The Ghost Pirates and Other Revenants of the Sea, collects more of Hodgson’s nautical fiction, including his 1909 novel The Ghost Pirates.


Table of Contents

Editor’s Introduction

The Ghost Pirates

The Silent Ship

Stories of the Sea
A Tropical Horror
The Voice in the Night
The Shamraken Homeward-Bounder
Out of the Storm
The Albatross
The ’Prentices’ Mutiny
On the Bridge
The Derelict
The Island of the Crossbones
The Stone Ship
The Regeneration of Captain Bully Keller
The Mystery of Missing Ships
We Two and Bully Dunkan
The Haunted Pampero
The Real Thing: ‘S.O.S’
Jack Grey, Second Mate
A Fight with a Submarine

Revenants (or Posthumously Published Stories of the Sea)

In the Danger Zone
Old Golly
Demons of the Sea
The Wild Man of the Sea
The Habitants of Middle Islet
The Riven Night
The Heaving of the Log
The Sharks of the St. Elmo
By the Lee

A Note On the Texts