Cook, Glen - An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat

Size: 288 pages

Select to Buy:
View Cart

Related Products:

Cook, Glen - A Cruel Wind: A Chronicle of the Dread Empire

Cook, Glen - A Fortress in Shadow: A Chronicle of the Dread Empire

The Dread Empire, a gritty world of larger-than-life plots, nation-shattering conflict, maddening magic, strange creatures, and raw, flawed heroes, all shown through the filter of Cook's inimitable war-correspondent prose. The Dread Empire, spanning from the highest peaks of the Dragon's Teeth to the endless desert lands of Hammad al Nakir, from besieged Kavelin to mighty Shinshan, the Empire Unacquainted with Defeat, with its fearless, masked soldiers, known as the Demon Guard...

An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat collects all of Glen Cook's short fiction set in the vast world of the Dread Empire, from "The Nights of Dreadful Silence", featuring the first appearance of Bragi Ragnarson, Mocker, and Haroun bin Yousif, to the culture-clashing novella "Soldier of an Empire Unacquainted with Defeat"; from "Silverheels", Cook's first published work of fiction, to "Hell's Forge", a haunting tale of cursed pirates and strange lands, appearing here for the first time.

Also including a detailed introduction and extensive story notes by Glen Cook, An Empire Unacquainted with Defeat charts the development of this influential American author and the massive, multifaceted world that he created.

"The world of the Dread Empire is, of course, the most important character of the series. It is always there, always on stage, always a stage, but never to be taken for granted." - Glen Cook, from the introduction.

"Cook's talent for combining gritty realism and high fantasy provides a singular edge."
- Library Journal

"Cook provides a rich world of assorted races, cultures and religions; his characters combine the mythic or exotic with the realistic, engaging in absorbing alliances, enmities, and double-crosses."
- Publisher's Weekly

"Over the past 25 years, Cook has carved out a place for himself among the preeminent fantasy writers of his generation.... His work is unrelentingly real, complex, and honest. The sense of place that permeates his narrative and characters gives his 'fantasies' more gravitas and grit than most fictions set in the here-and-now."
- Jeff VanderMeer, author of Shriek: An Afterword and City of Saints and Madmen

"The thing about Glen Cook is that... he single-handedly changed the field of fantasy - something a lot of people didn't notice, and maybe still don't. He brought the story down to a human level... Reading his stuff was like reading Vietnam War fiction on Peyote."
- Steven Erikson, Author of Gardens of the Moon and Deadhouse Gates

Limited Edition 978-1-59780-141-6
288 Pages $49.00

Hardcover 978-1-59780-140-9
288 Pages $24.95
Trade Hardcover Sold Out

Trade Paperback 978-1-59780-188-1
288 Pages $14.95

Read sample chapters and purchase the e-book at
Back To List